33 North Carolina Counties Designated as a Sentinel Landscape

sentinel landscape, get certified to work in land management

July 13, 2016, Goldsboro, N.C. Today at the Cherry Hospital Research Farm, N.C. Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler announced the federal designation of 33 counties as the North Carolina Sentinel Landscape, and the development of voluntary programs of incentives for landowners and local governments that desire to participate. Leaders of North Carolina’s military installations, county managers, representatives of conservation and environmental groups, and many other public and private partners also participated. North Carolina is the first state to have multiple military branches, military installations and counties named as part of the designation.

The designation is the latest designation from a joint federal partnership between the U.S. departments of Agriculture, Interior and Defense that aims to strengthen farms, ranches and forests while conserving habitat and natural resources and protecting vital training grounds for military installations.

In coming months, it is expected that conservation programs and expected sources of funding will be announced. They are expected to include the N.C. Agricultural Development and Farmland Preservation Trust Fund, the Department of Defense Readiness and Environmental Protection Integration Program, the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, federal programs in the U.S. departments of Agriculture and Interior, the N.C. Working Lands Trust, and Food and Fuel for the Forces.

The counties included in the N.C. Sentinel Landscape are: Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene, Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Moore, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Richmond, Sampson, Scotland, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne and Wilson.

For more, read here.